We are pleased to announce our first two titles:

I Piped, That She Might Dance by Iain MacDonald, with a foreword by Hugh Cheape, is an historical novel based on the life of Angus MacKay (1813-1859), first Piper to the Sovereign, appointed by Queen Victoria. Mackay, who is one of the most significant figures in the history of Scottish music, died after a long battle with physical and mental illness, though he left behind collections of pipe music still played today. This account of his life traces his long journey, from humble origins on the isle of Raasay to the height of fame in Her Majesty's service and beyond. His story is one that has long deserved to be told, and Iain MacDonald has obliged in style.

Expected publication date: Early 2021

ISBN: 978-1-7357747-0-1

Paperback, $18.99

Tuscawilla: Stories of a Farm is a collection of stories by the late F. Jane Cary about farm life in Greenbrier County, West Virginia, in the middle of the twentieth century. Cary lived her entire life on Tuscawilla Farm, eventually managing it after the deaths of her brothers. This fascinating account of the realities of post-war farm life features P.O.W.s, the ins and outs of hog butchering, how to make the perfect apple butter and much more. Cary's unique personality and love of the world around her shines through, and takes the reader back to an America that can be hard to recognize.

Expected publication date: Early 2021

ISBN: 978-1-7357747-1-8

Hardcover, $28.99

The Brick House, Tuscawilla Farm

120 Capitol St
Charleston, WV 25301

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Facebook